Tags

, ,

Whenever I meet new people and tell them what I do for a living, I get lots of questions about what my line of work is like. Not always wanting to revisit the intricacies of my calling during a cocktail party, I’m hoping this will be a place for people to learn more about what it is like to be a hospital chaplain. It is hard. It is amazing. It is something worthy of documentation.

I just moved to NYC to pursue a new opportunity in this field. While I still spend many of my days providing care and comfort to patients, I am also a Clinical Pastoral Education Supervisor-in-Training or Supervisory Education Student (CPE SIT or SES for short). To translate, I am learning how to teach seminary students and interns how to be chaplains. When I first thought about getting trained in this type of thing, I did what any Gen-Yer would do and googled it, hoping to find people talking about it, but there was a noticeable void.

So here’s my attempt at carving out a tiny corner of the internet to talk about these things.

